top of page

The mask that broke my face


It's the last night of our honeymoon on a small island off of Venezuela.

Everything was perfect.

We got a ride to a surfing beach, spent the day riding some great waves, met some fun Venezuelans, and then went to call a cab to take us back to the hotel. There was a whole row of pay phones, and not one of them worked. This was 1996, so cell phones, yet along international cell phones, weren't not an option.

Some of the fun Venezuelans we had just met, offered us a ride back to our hotel. Stranded, and very trusting, we said sure! We picked up their kids at a local riding camp and then proceeded to our hotel. I was in the front seat, because it was the "polite" thing to do. As I watched our new friend speed up the car to make it through the yellow traffic light, my periphereal vision caught the glimpse of the oncoming car speeding from the adjacent direction towards our car.

I don't remember the rest. What I do remember was my husband, yelling at everyone on the side of the rode, not to touch me. I had been thrown through the windshield and my face broke my fall. I got up and told him, "Get me the (BEEP) out of here!" We made it to the hospital, and of course I was in shock. All I can remember was doctors pointing to different places on my face and telling Tim, "Fractura, Fractura, Fractura..." I learned to ask for pain medication in broken spanish, "medicino por mi dormir"

When I found out about the Mask, I had a bone chilling moment. We had bought several ceramic masks at a road side hut during our trip. While Tim was unpacking he came across the masks. One of the Masks was broken in the same exact places that my face had been fractured. Tim and my mother carefully glued the mask back together, and wrapped it up and put it into storage.

People always respond in shock when they hear this story, but in hindsight, I always felt extremely lucky. I have a few scars,didn't lose an eye, or a limb, or anything else. But to this day, I always felt an eerie odd connection to that mask. Whenever I teach my classes how to make clay masks, I share this story with my students. It's the kind of story that quiets a room, makes you think about things that are bigger then us, that we might not quite understand.

Art definitely has the power to share a good story.

Our 4 week clay series starts this Wednesday. Join us during the day from 12:30pm - 2:00pm. We will guide you through various clay projects, even a clay mask, if you'd like.

Only 6 seats left for our infamous Death By Chocolate ladies Night out!

Our Kids Art Camps are bigger and better this summer. Registration is ongoing, unless they fill. The morning art camp has limited spaces, so don't wait til the last minute.

See you in the studio!

Thankfully yours...

~Michelle

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page