top of page

What every mom needs to learn from Kindergarten


One of my first "mommy" friends said it best.

"All my friends who had girls first, and a boy second, are convinced their kid is stupid." I know, that sounds really harsh. But when my 4 year old son decided to charge at our play room window, head on, cause his older sister dared him to... I'm thinking there's some truth to her statement.

My daughter entered kindergarten, reading and writing, my son, had absolutely no interest in either. When we got the welcome to kindergarten letter from his teacher, she asked us to write a little something about our son. When it came to writing, Tim would steer the parenting ship, he's really good at it. He told the story of Tommy, our son, slipping into his imaginary world to fight off ninja's and use his super powers for good. I thought it was great, light, fun and a bit of the truth. He's a boy. His attention span, motor skills, even his sanitary habits were so different then his older sister.

I don't think we should have written that letter.

At back to school night, Mrs. G, Tommy's Kindergarten teacher, explained the curriculum. It was nothing like the Kindergarten me and Tim attended. Not a lot of play, recess, or even a small nap. To my astonishment, she shared the green light, yellow light and red light behavior chart at the front of the room. There was Tommy's name taped to the red light. Tears welled up in my eyes, my little guy was struggling with this new public institution. Every motherly bone in my body wanted to take him out of public school, and perhaps home school him? But I didn't. He definitely struggled with Mrs. G through out the year, as did we, but looking back he learned to read, write and saved his ninja fighting imaginary world for our home.

Why am I telling you this?

School just started, and someone else's child might get a Mrs. G. When Tommy looks back on his Kindergarten experience, he remembers Mrs. G as an awesome teacher. And she kind of was. They all learn what they needed to learn. Tommy is now taking a huge interest into robotics, science and math. Unlike his sister, who loves her academics, but excels in the visual and performing arts. I don't compare them anymore. They are both beautiful, intelligent and caring people.

So as you watch your child get on that Kindergarten bus, just remember it's not the end to their imaginary ninja fighting world, but the beginning of so many endless possibilites.

"Imagination is more important than knowledge" ~Albert Einstein

Use your imagination at Earth Arts today... we open at 12


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page