top of page

My Mom's A Big Bully


Yep! I just called my mom a bully. But just to set the record straight, she didn't steal my lunch money, or push me down the stairs. Didn't call me names or pull my hair. Didn't trip me in the hallways or corner me at recess. (I'm assuming these are typical bullying behaviors).

She bullied me out of my art work.

That's right! Some might say she was my favorite fan. Maybe my biggest advocate. But those that were there after the credits were rolling, know she "bullied" me out of my art work. It was "payment" for my tuition for art school. It was almost like a scene out of Goodfellas. Don't get me wrong, I don't want to sound ungrateful. But there really wasn't a choice in the matter. My paintings, sculptures, photographs and ceramics lined their home. Looking back, it was really one of my first gallery showings and they were very proud.

So why am I bringing this up? Parents have to be supportive and advocate for their children's involvement in the arts. I was extremely fortunate to have parents who supported, advocated and found a way to pay for an arts education. They were always filling my eyes with art and my ears with music. My dad was a huge Big Band enthusiast, Rat Pack lover and introduced us to Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald and Nina Simone. Mom took us to the biennials at The Whitney, all the great exhibits at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and M.O.M.A, where I first saw "Starry Starry Night".

The photo above shows my mom's recent "bullying" efforts. She has somehow obtained my daughters recent Earth Arts, "Paint Your Pet"portrait from her. My daughter made portraits of Benji, to the left, and Seamus, to the right. Benji was a gift to my mom's friend for always being there for her. She was just showing my mom the portrait of Seamus, and somehow it is now in the Mom Gallery of Fame.

I hear it from you all the time, "I have every piece of art work she made, since she was 2. I don't even know what to do with it." Make a book! We do it all the time on Shutterfly and Iphoto. Spend a few hours, pick out what are memories, milestones and aesthically pleasing. Get a binder, a bunch of plastic three hole sleeves, and protect those memories.

Or you could just give it to my mom.

Come create some moments, memories and masterpieces today.

Open 12- 7 today, tomorrow and the next day.

Our next paint your pet night is this Tuesday:

http://www.earthartslb.com/adult-art-workshops

Our Children Fall 8 week Art Series starts THIS Tuesday, Saturday and NEXT Thursday: http://www.earthartslb.com/children-art-classes

~Michelle and Tim Kelly

516-432-9000


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page