top of page

It was my birthday, here's a present for you!


Disclaimer:This Post is a rewind to July 12th!

Summer birthdays are amazing and not so amazing.

As a kid everyone was away, they didn't celebrate us in school. Now in our political correct society, summer bdays get celebrated in June or September. Best part was mail, getting lots of birthday cards in the mail. And for those that remember my dreaded sleep away camp days, a "surprise" visit from mom and dad.

As an adult, and this one is half a century today... I cherish being a summer bday. Long walks on the beach, drinks on the bay, living in a city that has over 100 choices for a great meal. The mail part has changed. Maybe I use to get 20 or so cards in the mail. Now I go on facebook and my timeline is flooded with Happy Birthday wishes from friends and family all around the world.

So here is my birthday wishes and presents for you.

1. Do not do laundry today!! Tell them you are taking a day off, because it's Michelle's birthday. It will STILL be there tomorrow. Do not cave on this one either...as my 15 year old would say, "I will find you!"

2. Talk to your animals. They never talk back. If you don't have any, I have a guinea pig I'm looking to gift to someone. Just send me your address in a reply and he's yours, cage, hay, poop and all. I'll even paint his portrait for you at our next paint your pet night for free.

3. Eat Chocolate cake. C'mon, it's my birthday. It's very good for you, I promise. Or sign up for our Chocolate ladies night out, it's next friday and has hardly any seats left. (It was a lot of fun, look for our January chocolate night out!)

4. Be kind to yourself today. Get a mani/pedi, meditate, have your mate give you an awesome shoulder rub. Find some time for you!

5. Yesterday I heard the "echo dot" was on amazon for half price. Geez, how much money did they make when they were selling it full price? Shop Small, and stop complaining about the empty store fronts. Small biz steers our local economy. Go to the stores, don't order pea pod, or amazon fresh. Just for today.(remember, it's my bday?) The stores support our local economy, they hire your children, your neighbors. You might even get into a conversation with an old friend, or meet a new one.

6. Stay off social media. Well, you can wish me a happy bday, then get off. lol. 10 years ago, I never said lol. Times have changed. SMH

7. Do something creative. Plant some colorful flowers, doodle on your notes, take a cool photo. I'm a creative gal, so do something fun and creative, and please share (lol, but not on social media, see #6). Creativity is infectious.

8. AND... Just for you, just for today. 10% off your entire paint your own pottery purchase!! WHAT??? yup, it's gonna rain, your kids are gonna drive you cray-cray in the house, so come on down and get creative with me today. Ask our staff for our special 10% coupon card, that's always on our counter. You can even sign up for a class and get 10% off today. (sorry, doesn't apply to summer art camps)

Enjoy today, make it special.

I am going to eat lots of chocolate cake, and celebrate!

Creatively yours,

~Michelle and Tim (not his birthday) Kelly

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page